Complex particuliere begraafplaats incl. koetshuis
The cemetery is unique in the Netherlands and, together with its accompanying coach house, is a national monument. The reformed church in Oostknollendam closed in 1964, but the 1874 cemetery and its accompanying coach house are national monuments because of its unique private ownership. The iron entrance gate is flanked by storage rooms from 1930. During a renovation in 1996, the headstones were reinstated.
Farmer Wijnand Groot started building his own churchyard in 1860, as church land became available in exchange for the graves he already noticed on the outskirts of the village. After the death of his wife Jannetje Cents, Groot decided to have the churchyard formally recognised and founded the "Vereeniging tot een particuliere begraafplaats" for this purpose.
In the same year, the aanl...
The cemetery is unique in the Netherlands and, together with its accompanying coach house, is a national monument. The reformed church in Oostknollendam closed in 1964, but the 1874 cemetery and its accompanying coach house are national monuments because of its unique private ownership. The iron entrance gate is flanked by storage rooms from 1930. During a renovation in 1996, the headstones were reinstated.
Farmer Wijnand Groot started building his own churchyard in 1860, as church land became available in exchange for the graves he already noticed on the outskirts of the village. After the death of his wife Jannetje Cents, Groot decided to have the churchyard formally recognised and founded the "Vereeniging tot een particuliere begraafplaats" for this purpose.
Construction was completed in the same year. Its location on the edge of the village and the beautiful entrance gate with fence on Oostknollendammerstraat gave the cemetery extra allure. In later years, the cemetery was extended several times.
The stately gate, with its fine cast-iron fence, was manufactured by the well-known Amsterdam iron foundry J.J. Ongkelo in 1874. At the time, the gate was assembled in separate parts by local carpenter Roos Bekeer.
In 1906, the "Vereeniging tot Instandhouding van eene particuliere begraafplaats" saw the light of day. The neatly maintained cemetery has been maintained over the years thanks to donations, membership fees and contributions.
On 11 July 1986, the cemetery was designated a national monument. Since then, regular restorations and maintenance have taken place. The wrought-iron fence was renovated in 1994, the coach house was restored the following seven years, and the burial wall was restored in 1999. This preserved the historic character.
Contact
1534NB Oostknollendam Plan your route to Complex particuliere begraafplaats incl. koetshuis